top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Your Are the Sunshine of My Life 2/2/20

Sometimes, the research surprises me!


While checking the chart positions for today's "Great Song of the '70s," I discovered that Stevie Wonder did NOT sing the first 4 lines of "You Are The Sunshine of My Life!"


When I was on the air...in Toledo, Green Bay, Wausau and in Eau Claire...I must have played the song at least 100-200 times, when it was new--and as an oldie. I didn't have a clue that session musician Jim Gilstrap sang the first two lines, while backup singer Lani Groves sang the next two.


Well, now I do...and so do you! :-)


So what were those chart positions I was researching? #1 in the U.S., #5 in Canada, #7 in the U.K, #8 in New Zealand and #10 in Australia. Impressive!


Stevie won the Grammy Award for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance, and was nominated for both Record of the Year and Song of the Year. Rolling Stone has ranked this "Great Song of 1973" at #287 on their list of the "500 Greatest Songs of All Time."



Here's Stevie! (and Jim, and Lani)

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page