top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

You're My First, My Last, My Everything - Barry White (1974) 2/9/22

One of the most popular artists of the '70s--especially with the ladies--was Barry White.

His voice, his style, his songs were all "uber-romantic" and set the mood for... well, you know...


Back on 10/4/20, we highlighted Barry's "Can't Get Enough of Your Love, Baby," a "Great Song from 1974" (Check the link below).


Today, we're highlighting "You're My First, My Last, My Everything," also from 1974.

Backed by Philadelphia's Love Unlimited Orchestra, the song was a fast ballad (an oxymoron, for sure), that was pure Barry all the way.


Amazingly, it was written by songwriter Peter Radcliffe as a COUNTRY song back in 1963. The original title was "My First, My Last, My In-Between."


Somehow, Barry got his hands on it, changed the title and some of the lyrics...and the rest is chart history!


The song was a Top 10 hit in 9 countries, reaching #1 in the UK and Spain.

In the US, it was a "Triple-Chart hit: #1 on the R&B Chart, and #2 on the Hot 100 and Dance Charts. It sold over a million copies, and was most likely partially responsible for the birth of many babies in 1975.


Barry's huge success over the years was achieved by his talent, but he overcame several personal and physical obstacles to reach stardom: a horrible childhood, a jail sentence for theft, obesity, extremely high blood pressure, diabetes, and a naturally golden voice that was aided (in part) by an 8-pack-a-day cigarette habit.


Unfortunately, Barry died young in 2003 at the age of 58. But as a producer, songwriter and especially a singer...he was on top of world (and the charts) in the '70s, with "Great Songs" like 1974's "You're My First, My Last, My Everything."

"Can't Get Enough of Your Love, Baby" (Blog post from 10/4/20): https://www.facebook.com/MichaelCuuuk/posts/217867356353386


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Heading 1

bottom of page