top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

You're In My Heart (The Final Acclaim)-Rod Stewart (1978) 2/28/21

Most people tend to forget that the subtitle of one of Rod Stewart's "Greatest Songs of the '70s" was "The Final Acclaim." As a disc jockey, I don't ever remember introducing "You're in My Heart" with that subtitle, and I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one.


But that's not really important. :-)


What IS important is that Billboard Magazine predicted the song would become one of Rod's biggest Easy Listening hits...and they were right!


The song went to #1 in Canada and Australia, #2 in Ireland and New Zealand, #3 in the UK, and #4 on the US Hot 100!


But there's a bit of a dark side to the backstory. Rod wrote "You're in My Heart" when he was dating actress Bitt Ekland...but later back-pedaled when, after they broke up, Britt sued him for $12.5 million claiming he owed her for being his songwriting muse. Ouch!


That's when Rod said the song could have been about anybody...and there were a LOT of "anybodys" in those days. Double Ouch! Unfortunately for Rod, the lyrics were so specific. It's hard to imagine anyone but Britt fitting the description.


TRIVIA: The lyric, "You're Celtic, United, but baby I've decided, you're the best team I've ever seen" is a reference to Rod's favorite Scottish soccer teams, Dundee United and Celtic F.C.


"You're in My Heart (The Final Acclaim): regardless of the acrimony between Rod Stewart and Britt Eckland, it's a "great Song of 1977-78!"


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page