top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

While You See a Chance - Steve Winwood (1981) 10/29/23

Today's Great Song of 1981 really takes me back...


It's the song I'd start my evenings with during my final few years as a disco DJ at

She-nannigans in Eau Claire.


"While You See a Chance," the lead single from Steve Winwood's "Arc of a Diver" album isn't really a disco song, but I always felt it eased people into the evening with its gorgeous organ-based opening.


The song would begin, I'd turn on the mirrored ball and softly crank up the dance floor light show, the tempo would kick into high gear, and, shortly thereafter, people were ready to hit the floor and dance.


I thought it was a "Great Song back then--and I still do. And according to the charts, I'm not the only one!


Part of its appeal was its positive message. When you watch the video, scroll down and read the comments.


"While You See a Chance" was a triple chart hit: #3 on Billboard's Mainstream Rock Chart, #7 on the Hot 100 and #17 on the Adult Contemporary Chart.


Fun Fact #1: It was a complete Winwood production. Steve not only sang the song...he played ALL the instruments, produced the track, and co-wrote it with Hall of Fame songwriter Will Jennings.


Fun Fact #2: The song begins with an organ solo because the rest of the instrumentation was accidentally erased! That might just be the perfect example of a "happy accident."


"While You See a Chance" by Steve Winwood: a fondly remembered song for me...and a Great Song of 1981! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0j6g_uUhH2c


Tomorrow: The Cars shake it up.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page