top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Trapped by a Thing Called Love - Denise laSalle (1971) 12/19/22

This may come as a shock, but there are "Great Songs of the '70s" I wasn't even aware of until I started researching for this blog! ;-)

Today, I'm highlighting a song that apparently never came under my purview--but once I heard it, there was no doubt in my mind that it was "Great Song!"


In 1971, singer/songwriter/producer Denise LaSalle released her first single, "Trapped By a Thing Called Love." It's a jazzy kinda tune that put her on the charts--big time!


It was her biggest hit on Billboard's Soul Chart, landing at #1...and her ONLY hit on the Top 40, peaking at a lucky (or unlucky) #13.


Now before you think Denise was a one-hit wonder, think again! :-) During her long career (1967-2018), she scored another 15 hits on the Soul Chart (4 of them in the Top 20), and at one point was considered to be the "Queen of the Blues."


How Denise LaSalle escaped my notice until recently is beyond me, but I'm glad I found her...and her "Great Song of 1971:" "Trapped by a Thing Called Love." https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s7qvvJWkUXk

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Heading 1

bottom of page