top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Suavacito - Malo (1973) 2/28/22

Every so often, I'll highlight a "Great Song" that nobody remembers but me.


In this particular case, I definitely remember playing it as a "recurrent oldie" quite often back in 1973-74 when I was a "Good Guy" at WOHO in Toledo.


And yet, you NEVER hear "Suavacito" by Malo anymore,...and that's a shame, because it's got a smooth Latin beat ("Suavacito can actually mean 'smoothly' in Spanish), nice harmonies, and was known in some areas of the country as "The Chicano National Anthem."


It also charted quite well. In 1972, it reached #8 on Billboard's Easy Listening Chart, and #18 on the Hot 100.


I liked "Suavacito" back then, and I still do. Unfortunately, Malo became a one-hit wonder...but wherever they are today, they can still hang their hats on having a "Great Song of '72."


"Suavacito" by Malo (1972):



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page