top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Playground in My Mind - Clint Holmes (1972) 4/18/23

Updated: Apr 18, 2023

Clint Holmes was born to be an entertainer: His father was an jazz musician, and his mother was an opera singer.


He became an enlisted member of the United States Army Chorus in 1967, and after he left the service, he did a lot of nightclub work, which led to a residency Harrah's in Las Vegas--a gig that ran from 1971 through 2006!


From 1986-88, he was the announcer for Joan Rivers' late night talk show on Fox TV.

He was also a one-hit wonder with a catchy little nursery rhyme and "Great Song of 1972: "Playground in My Mind," which he sang with 7-year-old Phillip Vance--son of Paul Vance, who wrote the song with Lee Pockriss.

("My name is Michael...I've got a nickel...")

For some reason, the song took FOREVER to climb the charts...but when it did, it's climbed to the top, reaching #1 in Canada and #2 in the US.

For the record, the song was released as a single on 6/21/72, and finally reached those peak chart positions on 6/23/73--one year and two days later!


I was working at WOHO in Toledo during that time, and it was one of our most requested songs. And of course, since MY name is Michael, I never heard the end of people trying to sing it to me. (I didn't mind. Quite frankly, I liked the song, and still do!)


"Playground in My Mind by Clint Holmes (and Phillip Vance): a "Great Song from half of 1972 and half of 1973. :) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BolPQL83hFA

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Heading 1

bottom of page