top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Oh My My (1974) 11/28/20

Those of us who love Ringo Starr know that since the Beatles broke up, he has tried to surround himself with the best musicians he could find—on tour (with his All-Starr Band), and on record. It started with his early solo material...including today's “Great Song of the '70s.”


In 1973, he co-wrote “Oh My My” with songwriter Vinnie Poncia...and gathered together a an amazing set of musicians to help record it for his namesake album, “Ringo.” These folks were the cream of the session musician crop in those days: Ringo and Jim Keltner on drums, Klaus Voormann on bass, Tom Scott on saxophone, and Billy Preston on keyboards. The background singers were Gospel star Merry Clayton and Martha Reeves (of the Vandellas)!


The single was released in early 1974, and was one of Ringo's biggest hits: #5 on Billboard's Hot #100 and #3 on the Canadian Top 40.


It's catchy...it's fun...and “Oh My My,” it's a “Great Song of the '70s!




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page