top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Loretta Lynn Tribute 10/5/22

Superstar. Legend. Country Music Icon. Loretta Lynn was all of those things and more. We lost her yesterday at the age of 90.


There is so much I could say about Loretta's life and career, but instead of trying to do justice to her legacy, I will defer to Variety Magazine. In this particular case, Variety covers it all: https://variety.com/.../loretta-lynn-dead-dies-coal.../


I want to add two things:


#1: Several years ago, my wife Nancy and I were contracted to write commercials for WSM in Nashville, home of the "Grand Ol' Opry. At one point, we were asked to write some copy for an event Loretta was hosting. Most of the time, we never hear back from clients unless there are changes, but Loretta made sure the station let us know how she pleased she was with our work. She didn't have to say anything, but she did anyway. That's classy, and was much appreciated.


#2: It's interesting (and a bit spooky) to note that my original post for today actually featured her equally legendary duet partner, Conway Twitty. (TRUE!) Instead, I will post it tomorrow.


In honor of Loretta, I've chosen to highlight her first of MANY #1 songs of the '70s...and the inspiration for her biographical movie: of the same name: "1970's "Great Song:" "Coal Miner's Daughter."


Rest in Peace, Lorretta, you will be missed.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Heading 1

bottom of page