top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Looking for Space (1976) 7/10/20

Recently, my wife and I were binge watching the original version of “Magnum P.I.” starring Tom Selleck, when we reached what was originally intended to be the series finale back in 1987.


The episode was entitled “Limbo,” and at the end, it appeared that Magnum had died of a gunshot wound and was walking off into the clouds. Well, shortly thereafter, CBS surprised everyone involved by renewing the series for another season, so they had to bring Magnum back to life.


But I digress.


You're probably wondering how this ties into today's “Great Song of the '70s. Well, the last 4 minutes of “Limbo” were underscored with a song from 1976: John Denver's “Looking for Space.”


To be honest, it was a song I had almost forgotten about, but hearing it again made me realize what a “Great Song it truly is!


It was a pretty big hit, too: #1 on Billboard's Easy Listening chart and #4 on Canada's Adult Contemporary chart. The song is absolutely gorgeous, the lyrics are meaningful, and as Magnum fans, my wife and I felt they couldn't have a found a better song to end the series (even though it was renewed). There may have been some tears at our house.


“Looking for Space:” Perhaps it's not as well known as some of John Denver's other hits, but it's a “Great Song of the '70s” (and 1987) nonetheless.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page