top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

If I Could Reach You - Fifth Dimension (1972) 7/18/22

Updated: May 7, 2023

The Fifth Dimension had several hit records during the late '60s and early '70s...and one of main reasons for their success was Marilyn McCoo.


To many, Marilyn was one of the premiere singers of the era, and it's easy to hear why--especially when you listen closely to today's "Great Song of 1972: "If I Could Reach You."


While it most likely isn't the first song that comes to mind when listing Marilyn's best performances, maybe it SHOULD be.


"If I Could Reach You" feels like a Broadway showtune. To me, it sounds like something from "Pippin." (That might be a bit obscure for some, but perhaps some of my musical theatre friends will hear it and back me up.)


In any event, Marilyn sings the heck out of it...giving a truly emotional performance. The song is about unrequited love, and you can feel the heartache in every note.


It turned out to be The Fifth Dimension's last #1 song on Billboard's Adult Contemporary Chart...and their last Top 10 hit (#8) on the Hot 100. Although the rest of the group fills in with some stellar harmonies, this truly was Marilyn's song all the way.

Note: At the end of the song, Marilyn sings the Kwik Trip slogan, "See You Next Time" with painful sadness and longing, I'd LOVE to hear a KT cashier sing it to me just that way the next time I stop in. :-) "If I Could Reach You" by Marilyn McCoo and The Fifth Dimension: a "Great Song of 1972!"


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Heading 1

bottom of page