top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

I'm a Man - Chicago (1969-71) 6/16/22

It's gotta be the must-see double-bill of 2022:


Chicago is back on tour, with opening act Brian Wilson (with Al Jardine and Blondie Chaplin)!


Although most of you know I'm a HUGE Brian Wilson fan, Chicago has always been in my top 10 favorite groups.


So I was excited to read that by all accounts, Chicago (including 3 remaining founding members: Robert Lamm, James Pankow and Lee Loughnane) has hit the ground running, and one of the highlights of their new set is an amazing version of a song that appeared on their very first album, 1969's "Chicago Transit Authority."


"I'm a Man" was originally a "Great Song of 1967" by the Spencer Davis Group (featuring Steve & Muff Winwood), reaching #10 on Billboard's Hot 100. (Check the link below.)


Chicago's version was a 7-minute masterpiece of rock/jazz fusion, showing off everything they had to offer: hot horns, wild woodwinds, grinding guitar, pounding percussion, outstanding organ, and vibrant vocals.


Of course, at that length, it would never be played on AM Top 40 radio--so it was relegated to FM album rock stations and never charted.


HOWEVER, it was eventually released as a single in 1971, when it appeared as the B-side to another "Great Chicago Song:" "Question 67 & 68." The "A" side went to #24. "I'm a Man" charted at #49.


As far as I'm concerned, "I'm a Man" is a "Great Song of 1969-1971! :-)

I hope you agree!


Good luck to the old guys on tour!


Spencer Davis Group (1967):


"Question 67 & 68:"



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page