top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

I'll Play For You - Seals & Crofts (1975) 12/4/22

Sometimes researching a "Great Song" can be frustrating. Such is the case with 1975's "I'll Play for You" by Seals and Crofts.


There just isn't a lot of info out there to tap into, other than some basics: The song was the title cut from their seventh studio album, and Jim Seals and Dash Crofts co-wrote it.


"I'll Play for You" reached #2 on the Adult Contemporary Chart in Canada, and #4 on Billboard's matching chart in the US. It also reached #18 on Billboard's Hot 100.

And that's about it.


But let me add an observation or two: If there were ever a quintessential song to open a Seals and Crofts concert, "I'll Play for You" is it. The lyrics are perfect for a soft rock duo like Jim & Dash, and the the the song builds in tempo and instrumentation until it resembles sort of a Pop/Dixieland hybrid...which, to me, makes it cool, catchy, and just a little bit different.


Hopefully, you'll agree: "I'll Play for You" by Seals and Crofts is a "Great Song of 1975!" https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lv1XqfEa4T8

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

تعليقات


Heading 1

bottom of page