top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

I'll Have to Say I Love You in a Song - Jim Croce (1974) 11/23/21

It's ironic and sad that Jim Croce did not live long enough to enjoy the successes that came with some of his best work.


Case in point: Today's "Great Song of 1974."


"I'll Have to Say I Love You in a Song" was released 6 months after his death in a plane crash, and followed other "Great Songs," like "Time in a Bottle," which we highlighted back on: 2/13/20: https://www.facebook.com/MichaelCuuuk/posts/148692813270841


According to Ingrid Croce, Jim's widow, Jim wrote the song after they had an argument about household finances. Jim cut the argument short, and left the room.


The next thing Ingrid heard was Jim playing his guitar, obviously working on a song. Not wanting to interrupt him, since tempers had been running hot, she decided to let things cool down and drifted off to sleep.


The next morning, she was awakened by Jim softly singing his new song to her.

Pretty romantic.


"I'll have to Say I Love You in a Song" went to #1 on Billboard's Adult Contemporary Chart and #9 on the Hot 100. In Canada, it reached #4 on the Top 40.


Over the years, a number cover versions have been recorded; none, however, were released as singles. Artists include Clint Black, Jerry Reed, Andy Williams, Mary Travers and The Ventures.


"I'll Have to Say I Love You in a Song" by Jim Croce: a love letter to Ingrid, a posthumous hit, and a "Great Song of 1974."



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Heading 1

bottom of page