top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

(I Know) I'm Losing You - Rare Earth/Rod Stewart (1970-71) 11/20/22

It goes without saying that The Temptations were one of Motown's most prolific hitmaking groups of the '60s and '70s...but I'm saying it anyway, because it's important to note that several of their "Great Songs" later became "Great Songs" a second and third time for other artists.


For example, in late 1966, they released "(I Know) I'm Losing You," which, in addition to topping Billboard's Soul Chart in early 1967, reached #8 on the Hot 100.


Skip to 1970. Rare Earth, the only white rock & roll band on Motown's roster, recorded a 10-minute, psychedelic version for their album "Ecology." It was edited down to 3:35 and released as a single, which promptly reached #7 on the Hot 100.

But wait, there's one more!

Most Rod Stewart fans know that Rod is a HUGE fan of Motown music, and he proved it early on by releasing HIS version of "(I Know) I'm Losing You" as a single from his classic 1971 album, "Every Picture Tells a Story." Credited to Rod Stewart & Faces (his former group), it reached #24 on the Hot 100 and #13 in Canada.


"(I Know) I'm Losing You:" One "Great Song." Three Versions: from 1966 by The Temptations, 1970 by Rare Earth, and 1971 by Rod Stewart!




Rod Stewart & Faces:

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page