top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

(I Just) Died in Your Arms Tonight - Cutting Crew (1986) 8/17/23

In an effort to keep this post PG, let's just say that today's Great Song of 1986 is the true story of a night of passion, and the regret that happened DURING and after.


In a Songfacts interview with Nick Van Eede, lead singer for The Cutting Crew, he explained "(I Just) Died in Your Arms Tonight" this way: "It's a song written about my girlfriend (who is actually the mother of my daughter). We got back together for one night after a year apart and I guess there were some fireworks but all the time tinged with a feeling of 'should I really be doing this?"


The title itself is a metaphor, but I'll let you figure it out.


The song became the first release from The Cutting Crew's debut album, "Broadcast," and it was a huge worldwide hit, reaching the Top 10 in 13 countries, including #1 in Norway, Finland, Canada, and here in the US, where it topped Billboard's Hot 100 and reached #4 on the Album Rock Chart.


"(I Just) Died in Your Arms Tonight:" A Great Song of 1986! It certainly started The Cutting Crew's recording career off with a bang! (Yes, I went there.) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dOwHzCHfgA


Tomorrow: When Smokey Sings.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page