top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

I Hate Myself for Loving You - Joan Jett & The Blackhearts (1988) 6/23/23

My friends at the Chippewa Valley Theatre Guild are presenting the musical "Rock of Ages" this weekend at the Pablo Center in Eau Claire. For tickets, visit CVTG.org.


"Rock of Ages" ties in PERFECTLY with my "Great Songs" blog, because it features more than a DOZEN hits from the '80s, all of which we will highlight at some point in the future.


In fact, I've already highlighted one of the songs. Just the other day, I featured "The Search is Over" by Survivor.


Today, I'm going to highlight probably my favorite "Rock of Ages" tune: 1988's "I Hate Myself for Loving You" by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts!


It was the lead single from the album, "Up Your Alley," and it spent 6 months on the charts, peaking at #8 on Billboard's Hot 100--and in New Zealand. It also reached #9 in Paraguay, a country I didn't even know HAD a chart!


Cashbox Magazine called it "a mean, growling performance from the high-flying Jett, in which, over a craggy landscape of heavy guitars, she exudes sexual anger and power."


That's exactly right...and most likely why "I Hate Myself for Loving You" earned a Grammy nomination for Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal!


TRIVIA: Former Rolling Stone Mick Taylor played the guitar solo on the track.


TRIVIA, Part 2: In recent years, the song was adapted for NBC Sunday Night Football, and re-named "Waiting All Day for Sunday Night" with Carrie Underwood on vocal and Joan on guitar.


"I Hate Myself for Loving You" by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts: a "Great Song of 1988, and some Rock for the Ages! (See what I did there?) Go see the show! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpNw7jYkbVc



Tomorrow: Cross Wind.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Heading 1

bottom of page