top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

I Found Someone of My Own - The Free Movement (1971) 3/28/22

You may not remember this one, but it was a big hit in 1971...and truly a "Great Song."

"I've Found Someone of My Own" was released from the album of the same name by the Los Angeles based soul group, The Free Movement.


It was one of those songs that just sounded good on the radio. In fact, it sounded a bit like a Fifth Dimension song, and listeners loved it.


The charts certainly reflected its popularity: #5 on the Hot 100, #7 on the Adult Contemporary Chart, and #20 on the Rhythm & Blues Chart.


Now, 50+ years later, there's not a lot of available info about The Free Movement...other than the fact that they released 3 more singles with diminishing success.


Their second release, "The Harder I Try, The Bluer I Get" made it to #6 on the AC Chart, but had very little impact otherwise and is almost forgotten. (I've added a link to it below so you can check it out.)


The other two singles they released sank without a trace.


So I guess you could call The Free Movement a "One-and-a-Half Hit Wonder," but although "I've Found Someone of My Own, is somewhat forgotten in the 2020s...it was still a "Great Song of 1971!


"The Harder I Try, The Bluer I Get" (Also 1971):


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page