top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

I Do, I Do, I Do! (1975) 11/18/20

Today's “Great Song of the '70s” is a perfect example of Schlager music.” What the heck is Schlager music?

I have to admit that until I was researching today's “Great Song of the '70s,” I'd never heard of it.


Here's the definition: Schlager music is a style of European pop that generally features a catchy instrumental accompaniment to vocals featuring simple, happy-go-lucky, and often sentimental lyrics.


Well, that clears it up. I think.


In 1975, ABBA was having a hard time trying to follow up their debut single, “Waterloo,” which was a worldwide hit (and a song we may highlight in the future). After a couple of single releases went nowhere, they pulled “I Do, I Do, I Do” off their self-titled third album and gave it a shot. Smart move!


The “Schlager” style song was a worldwide hit: Top 10 in 13 countries...including #1 in Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Switzerland. In North America, It went to #8 and #15 on Billboard's Adult Contemporary Chart and Hot 100, respectively. In Canada, it went to #6 and #12 on the matching charts.


After that, ABBA had a long string of “Great Songs” until they all divorced each other and called it a career.

But oddly enough, “I Do, I Do, I Do” was pretty much the only time they dipped into the, uhh, “Schlager” for a hit.


TRIVIA: Of course, the song is included in the Broadway musical—and the film “Mamma Mia.” In Act II of the play, the song is used when Sky and Sophie call off their wedding, and Sam and Donna get married instead.


“I Do, I Do, I Do:” a “Great Schlager Song of the '70s!”



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


Heading 1

bottom of page