top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

I Can See Clearly Now (1972) 6/14/20

Before we get to today's “Great Song of the'70s,” let me tell you a story:


If you listened to WOHO in Toledo back in the early to mid 70s (as I know many of my old classmates did), you might remember our first-person PSAs.


These were short public service announcements that were recorded by non-radio folks who were representing a charity or public event. We played them at the end of commercial breaks as a segue back into the music. More often than not, they were played over the intro of a song.

One of my many jobs at the station was to record these folks, edit them if needed, and deliver the finished

product to the studio for airing.

There was a lovely young lady named Colleen Spain who would periodically come in to record PSA's for the Toledo Federation of the Blind. Colleen herself was blind, very well spoken, and always did a wonderful job. I enjoyed working with her.

One day, shortly after she recorded her latest announcement, I was on the air and coming out of a commercial break when Colleen's PSA was the next in line.

I started the song, and then started Colleen's announcement: (Hello, this is Colleen Spain for the Toledo Federation of the Blind....) I timed it perfectly so that she would finish a second before the song's vocal began.

I realized my mistake almost immediately.

She finished with, “Be a WOHO Good Guy and support the Toledo Federation of the Blind,” and the vocal began:

“I can see clearly now, the rain is gone...I can see all obstacles in my way....”

I almost had a heart attack. I thought the complaints would come rolling in and my career would be over. But, luckily, nothing happened! (Whew!)

I apologized to Colleen the next time she stopped by. She hadn't heard it—or even heard about it—and thankfully, she thought it was rather amusing. :-)

I remember it almost like it was yesterday, instead of 48 years ago.

So anyway, today's “Great Song of the '70s” is Johnny Nash's “I can See Clearly Now,” a Pop/Reggae hybrid that topped Billboard's Hot 100 and Adult Contemporary Charts for 4 weeks in 1972, and was a Top 10 hit in 6 other countries, including Canada, where it also went to #1.

In 1993, Reggae legend Jimmy Cliff recorded a version for the film “Cool Runnings” that made the Top 40 in 11 countries...including the US (#7) and Canada (#9).

“I Can See Clearly Now:” a “Great Song of the '70s” for Johnny Nash, a hit for Jimmy Cliff in the '90s...and a radio memory I will never forget! Johnny:





Jimmy:


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Heading 1

bottom of page