top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Howard Hesseman Tribute (WKRP/WOLD/Chapin) 1/31/22

This one hit me pretty hard. Howard Hesseman has died at the age of 81.


As always, for obituaries, I defer to Variety Magazine:

https://variety.com/2022/tv/news/howard-hesse-man-dead-wkrp-in-cincinnati-police-academy-1235167152/

Although I didn't know Mr. Hesseman personally, I KNEW him. For my entire adult life, I've been surrounded by people just like him.


I started as a disc jockey. Under the name "Don Sturdy," so did Howard. Yes, he was a REAL DJ before he became Dr. Johnny Fever on WKRP.


He moved into acting by joining the seminal improv group, The Groundlings, which led to a fantastic career in TV and film. I moved into acting, and have pieced together a MUCH smaller and less illustrious patchwork of roles in theatre, film and TV.


As a DJ, I worked with people who were Johnny Fever personified: Always fun, always a bit dangerous, and always high-energy on the air--thanks to coffee and possibly some other substances.


As an actor, I've worked with some incredible actors and improv geniuses.

(I wasn't one of them).


"WKRP in Cincinnati" was very much like real life to me...and some of the plotlines were based on TRUE radio stories...like "Thanksgiving Turkey Drop!"


I could identify with every cast member: Mr. Carlson, Venus, Bailey, Les, Jennifer and even Herb...but Johnny was not just my favorite...but an inspiration.

Okay, I'm rambling...so if you've read this far, thank you!


Today, in tribute to Mr. Hesseman, I present 3 links. I invite you to click all 3.


The first is the full-length version of the "Theme from WKRP," which was released as single in 1981 by Steve Carlisle. Oddly enough, it peaked at just #65 on the Hot 100. This version filled out the story a bit more and today is more of a curiosity than anything else.



The second is sort of a prequel/sequel...and a "Great Song of the '70s," but only if you were a disc jockey. :-) Harry Chapin's "W.O.L.D." was released in 1973, long before WKRP debuted in '78, but the lyrics suggest how Johnny's career might have continued after leaving Cincinnati. It certainly mirrored the TRUE story of several DJs with whom I crossed paths with during my 23-year radio career. The song reached #36 on the Hot 100 and #37 on the Easy Listening Chart. In Canada, it peaked at #9 & #14 on the Matching Charts.


The third is a video of the moment when John Caravella became Dr. Johnny Fever, and as an actor, I consider this a master class in acting. The nuances are dead-on, and the transformation is simple, but amazing!



Thank you for reading my fanboy tribute to Howard Hesseman. R.I.P.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Heading 1

bottom of page