top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Honesty - Billy Joel (1979) 10/7/22

Today's "Great Song of 1978" postulates that "Honesty" is harder to find than love.


Billy Joel reasoned that you could always find someone who could comfort you with promises of love and devotion, but it wouldn't mean much if there wasn't any truth behind them.


He also felt the finished song was rather hypocritical. As he put it during an interview on Sirius/XM: "'Honesty' is the most bulls--t song I ever wrote."I mean, who am I to preach to people: 'You gotta be honest with me.' I haven't always been honest in my life."


Well, Billy, that's one of the main reasons why the song is so great:" it's relatable to almost everyone.


Critics gave the song almost universal praise, and when it was released from Billy's iconic "52nd Street" album, it charted in 11 countries, including France (#1), Canada (#4) and the US (#9 on the Adult Contemporary Chart).

Further proof of greatness: he song was nominated for Song of the Year at the 22nd Grammy Awards!


In my honest opinion, "Honesty" by Billy Joel is a "Great Song of 1979!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Heading 1

bottom of page