top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

God Bless the USA - Lee Greenwood (Memorial Day) 5/31/21

Today, we're taking a short trip into the '80s, for one of the most patriotic songs to ever hit the charts---and, as of last year, it had charted three times since its original release in 1984.


It's pretty much the perfect Memorial Day song: "God Bless the USA" by Lee Greenwood.

Lee was originally moved to write and record it after a Korean airliner traveling from Anchorage, Alaska to Seoul was shot down after accidentally wandering into restricted Soviet airspace. The song reached #7 on Billboard's Country Chart.


After the attacks of September 11, 2001, it charted again, this time at #12 on the Adult Contemporary Chart and #16 on both the Country Chart and the Hot 100.


And last year, it came back strong, hitting #1 on the Digital Song Sales Chart.

Over the years, the song has been used for political purposes, but as far as I'm concerned, it's just a "Great Song" that carries a lot of meaning for me--especially this year.


In January, my father-in-law, Orv Langhough, passed away, and just a few weeks ago, my brother-in-law, David Smith, also passed. Both were Army veterans.

Other veterans in my family who have left us include my father, Harold (Navy), my uncle Don Cook (Army), and my wife's uncle, Colonel Richard Hickenbottom (Air Force).


I salute them all--and everyone else--who has served our country and is no longer with us. Thank you for you service. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oC6g13usoqo


Tomorrow: Back to the '70s with a smile!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page