top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Everything I Own - Bread (1972) 6/20/21

I highlighted this song last Father's Day, but I think it bears repeating.


Sometimes when you hear a song, you think it's about one thing...but in reality, it's not what you think at all. For almost 50 years, I thought today's “Great Song of the '70s” was a “break up” song. Then, while doing research for a possible Father's Day song to highlight, I discovered that “Everything I Own” by Bread was written by lead singer David Gates after his father had passed away.

When you listen to the song with that piece of knowledge in mind, it changes your focus. At least it did for me.

Of course, it was one of Bread's biggest hits; In 1972, it went to #3 on Billboard's Adult Contemporary chart and #5 on the Hot 100. It also hit #5 on Canada's Top 40. The video below features the lyrics. See what you think.

In any event, I'm highlighting the song in memory of my father, Harold Cook, who passed away in 1986 at the age of 63, and my father-in-law, Orv Langhough, who passed away at the beginning of this year. “Everything I own:” a “Great Song of the '70s” and a great Father's Day tribute.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Heading 1

bottom of page