top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Don't Look Back (1978) 10/16/20

Back on July 21st, our “Great Song of the Day” was 1977's “More Than a Feeling” by Boston.”https://cuuuk8.wixsite.com/mysite/post/more-than-a-feeling-1977-7-21-20


Shortly thereafter, in a conversation with my brother-in-law, Dave, he mentioned that band leader Tom Scholz was from Toledo (Ottawa Hills, to narrow down the suburb).


Because I moved from Toledo to Wisconsin in 1976, before Boston existed, I was surprised at that bit of trivia---but then, when Dave told me that he and pre-Boston Scholz used to hang out together, I was floored!


Here's pretty much what Dave said: “Tom was always telling everyone that he was going to form a band, and they were going to be really good.” I didn't believe him, no one did, until one day a mutual friend handed me a cassette that said “Boston,” and said, “Listen to THIS.” I couldn't believe it! Then, we all went to a Boston concert at the old Toledo Sports arena and got to hang out with Tom backstage. It was very cool! And LOUD!”


I bet it was!


Today's song, “Don't Look Back,” was the title cut of Boston's second album, released in 1978. The album went to #1 on Billboard's Album Chart, and the single made it to #4 on the Hot 100, as well as #6 on Canada's Top 40.


In an effort to achieve perfection, Scholz painstakingly pieced the song together, using dozens of edits and overdubs. Critics were impressed, with many calling it a masterpiece. Others described it as a “high powered sonic blast, with layers of searing guitar harmonies.” Everyone thought it was one of Boston's BEST songs, including radio listeners, who bought more than a MILLION copies in less than 2 weeks!


With thanks to my brother-in-law for “looking back” with a fun story, I give you “Don't Look Back,” a “Great Song of 1978!”


Boston:


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


Heading 1

bottom of page