top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Don't Leave Me This Way (1977) 9/2/20

To me, it has always seemed like today's “Great Song of the '70s” (“Don't Leave Me This Way”) was the prequel for another “Great Song of the '70s!” (“I Will Survive.”)The lyrics for “Don't Leave Me This Way” begin as follows:

“Don't leave me this wayI can't survive, I can't stay aliveWithout your love, no babyDon't leave me this wayI can't existI will surely miss your tender kissSo don't leave me this way.


"I Will Survive” begins like this:

At first I was afraid, I was petrified Kept thinking I could never live without you by my side But then I spent so many nights thinking how you did me wrongAnd I grew strongAnd I learned how to get along.


In reality, the songs had no connection to each other: different songwriters, different singers, different producers and different labels. What they DID have in common were chart success and Grammy Awards!

We told the tale of “I Will Survive” back on January 9th, and you can click here to check it out: https://cuuuk8.wixsite.com/mysite/post/i-will-survive-1-9-20


As for “Don't Leave Me This Way?” It was originally recorded by Harold Melvin and the Blue Notes in 1977, and reached #3 on Billboard's Disco Chart, but when Thelma Houston covered it later in the year, the song REALLY broke loose: Top 15 in 11 countries, including #4 in Canada---and #1 on 3 US Charts: The Hot 100, The Soul Chart and the Disco Chart!


It won the Grammy for Best R&B Performance/Female, was featured in the film “Looking For Mr. Goodbar,” and is listed at #2 on VH-1's list of the “100 Greatest Dance Songs!”


It also became an unofficial theme song for those suffering from AIDS.


With “Don't Leave Me This Way,” Thelma Houston belted her way to a “Great Song of the '70s!




For comparison purposes, here's the Harold Melvin version:




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page