top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Carpenters' Medley

To me, "Great Songs of the '70s" would be sadly lacking if I didn't include something by one of the best female vocalists who ever lived. With her brother Richard, Karen Carpenter had a string of hits in the '70s to die for.



Ironically, this beautiful woman--world-renowned for her clear alto voice, impeccable phrasing and perfect pitch (not to mention her awesome drum skills) was destined to die young (just a few weeks before her 33rd birthday) due to a heart attack brought on by anorexia.


Instead of choosing one song to post, I have chosen a medley from their 1976 TV special. It's long, but it's well worth watching!


Trivia: The 1st song I ever played on the radio was "We've Only Just Begun." I had just turned 16 and the title was how I felt about my radio career. 📷:-) Trivia #2: The guitar solo in "Goodbye to Love" gave some Carpenters' fans a fit. They thought it was too hardcore. (Wrong!) Trivia #3: In this video, the drummer is Cubby O'Brien--the same "Cubby" who was one of the original Mouseketeers!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page