top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Beach Baby 12/13/19

Today, our "Great Song of the '70s" is a little bit odd. First of all, it's from England...and yet it's a surf song. In fact, it's been called the "Greatest Surf Song The Beach Boys Never Recorded."


Then, there's the classical French horn solo in the middle taken from Sibelius' Fifth Symphony...followed by some incredible vocal harmonies.


The song was over 5 minutes long, and most radio stations didn't even play the whole thing. They faded out BEFORE all the good stuff I just mentioned!


When I was at WOHO in Toledo, we played the short version, and I didn't even know there was a long version until I heard it last year on Sirius XM!


Even with all this oddness, it went to #1 in Canada and #4 in the U.S. I believe, in its complete length, it goes from a "First Class" song...to A GREAT song. I hope you'll agree.

From 1974: First Class!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page