top of page

           Bio                         Listen

Search

Ain't No Sunshine 12/23/19

Today, my father, Harold Cook, would have turned 97 years old, and as a tribute, my "Great Song of the '70s" is dedicated to him. Here's why:


Dad grew up in a vastly different time and place than my siblings and I (the '20s & '30s in rural Wisconsin)...and Rock & Roll, not to mention Rhythm & Blues, were like foreign languages to him. BUT...he was literally an electronics genius, and when I wanted to get into radio, he taught me everything I needed to know to get my license (a requirement which no long exists, by the way), and drove me to Detroit so I could take my exam.


I know he wanted me to be a radio engineer...but if he were disappointed in my choice to be an announcer, he didn't show it. No matter what station I was on in Toledo, he would listen. It was easy for him when I was playing gospel at WPOS... or country at WMGS and WTUU (both long defunct)...but when I was on WOHO, well, he'd only turn the radio up if I were talking. :-)


But one day, he surprised me. He called me on the request line and said, "Michael, Why don't you play that WINO song." "WINO song??" "Yeah, the one where the guy keeps singing "WINO, WINO, WINO, WINO..." After 45 years, I still laugh when I think about it. :-) (My brother tells me that dad was pretty sure the first time he heard it, he thought the record was skipping!)



Now...from 1971, a song that went to #3 on the U.S, Hot 100 and #5 in Canada. Miss you, Dad. Happy Birthday. Here's your song:

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Heading 1

bottom of page